Skip to content

A Musical Outing

March 20, 2014

Baby A went to her first concert last Saturday (not counting my symphony’s while she was in utero), the Utah Symphony’s spring children’s concert “Tyrannosaurus Sue: A Cretaceous Concerto.”  As usual, I kind of forgot we had tickets until a few days before (I really have trouble keeping track of the days and even more so, the dates lately.)  DH had to work all day Saturday so couldn’t use his ticket and after thinking through several different scenarios of who could use his ticket and/or watch my nursing baby, I finally went with the easiest solution which was simply to take her along to use our sixth ticket.

Despite E having a fit because we wouldn’t let him stop in the middle of the crosswalk when he decided right then he wanted his coat buttoned up, we were actually quite early for probably the first time ever and if I’d realized it, I probably could have tried to take a better picture.  As it is, this is the best we have.

IMG_1068

Being a children’s concert, I knew the audience would be kind of wiggly and not exactly silent, but I was still prepared to take Little A out if need be.  We timed it just right though and she was asleep until right after it started, then I nursed her through the first half of the concert, which was a musical retelling of Babar the Elephant.  The boys were so well-behaved and since I was feeding Little A, we avoided them passing her back and forth and back and forth 26 times like they did in Stake Conference a couple Sundays ago.

Someone very tall was sitting in front of E and me.  I told E to go down and sit by D where he could see the stage better, but he wanted to sit by me . . . so he could ask twenty questions through the concert.  What’s that light?  What made that sound?  What instrument is that?  How do you get up to the balcony?  How come we can’t sit up there?  And on and on.  Finally towards the end of the first piece, he wanted to know where the potty was.  I suddenly realized he wasn’t asking out of curiosity.  He didn’t have an accident, but yes, he needed to go right now.  

He’s been potty trained since Christmas break, but I still worry about him sometimes when we’re out and about, and he’s been known to scream hysterically if he doesn’t make it to the bathroom on time.  We made it, even waiting for Babar to end.  I took Little A with me, and then realized it’s very hard to help a 4-year-old get his hands washed in an adult-sized sink with automatic sensors that aren’t sensing very well while also holding on to a 2-month-old.  Especially when the 4-year-old doesn’t want to wash his hands in the first place.  Luckily a woman offered to hold my baby for me as she could see I needed a little help, and she thought it was quite a treat to hold such a little baby again.

We made it back into the concert hall just after Tyrannosaurus Sue started.  I didn’t want to climb over the fifteen people in our row, so E, Little A, and I just found some seats in the empty back half of the hall.  Little A behaved beautifully and was quiet until the very last minute or so while E asked about 50 questions through the rest of the concert.  I was glad nobody else was sitting anywhere near us.  He’s getting much better at whispering, but still, it went something like this:

E: Where are my brothers?
Me: They’re sitting a few rows down in the center.

E: I can’t see them.
Me: I can see them.  Just listen to the music.

E: I can’t see them. . . Where’s my coat?  I don’t have my coat.
Me: Your coat’s with your brothers.

E: I can’t see my brothers.  Where are they?

and so on and so on and so on.  The child’s persistent.

But all was well; we found his coat and his brothers at the end of the concert.  Then Little A decided to cry all the way to the car.  But we made it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 20, 2014 11:25 am

    Sounds like a lot of our outings! 🙂 But good for you for taking all five! It does help to have older ones who are such big helpers though doesn’t it?

    Just wondering if you ever got our little package? I hope it found its way to you!

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

