Skip to content

Easter 2014

April 20, 2014

Another attempt at getting five children to look at the camera at once–

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

We had visitors to our ward sitting behind us in sacrament meeting today.  The wife leaned over to me after the meeting to say she had enjoyed watching my boys during church; they were very well behaved.  It was nice to hear.  I had felt quite frazzled when I first got there from trying to get us there on time and looking presentable.

The ward choir was supposed to sing in sacrament meeting and I was thinking, “Ward choir, what ward choir?  Why do I never hear about rehearsals?”  When it was time, the director stood up and said due to the ward choir not having had a chance to rehearse, we would have insta-choir today.  Anyone who had ever sung in a choir was invited to come up and sing “All Creatures of Our God and King.”  So C, D, and I went up to sing.  It turned out really nice; there were a lot more people up there than ever show up for ward choir!  I’m not sure why A didn’t come up, probably because he thought he needed to watch Little A who was asleep on the bench.  DH was in the quiet room with E, but came in to hear us sing so A could have come up.

I found out Bishop’s Youth Council was cancelled today (A is the deacon’s quorum president) so I planned to take pictures of all the kids on the porch right after church.  But A never came home and Little A was getting fussier by the minute because she needed a nap.  I finally realized A had probably gone to take the sacrament to the shut-ins in our ward so I finally put the baby down for a nap.  Five minutes later he got home.  I made everyone eat lunch with aprons on so they wouldn’t have to change their clothes, plus DH was at work and there’s no way I could have tied their ties for them again!  They haven’t quite figured out how to tie their own ties yet, but we’re working on it.  Amazingly they stayed pretty clean (if you ignore the chocolate on E’s pocket.  I think his lunch consisted of dark chocolate bunny.)

IMG_1438

We’ll call this one “Let’s lick the baby’s foot.”  Just keeping it real.

IMG_1443-001

After just one picture on the porch, my camera battery died (of course!) so here we have “happy baby, blurry iphone” photo–but that’s ok because I’ve waited years for someone to wear a big poufy Easter dress!

IMG_1453

Very poufy–IMG_1445

It’s hilarious to watch the boys try to get all those layers of fabric and tulle under control when they hold her.

IMG_1454

My friend took formal shots of each of them yesterday which I’m very excited to see.  They weren’t Easter pictures; she was just offering to take pictures for a fundraiser and since Little A is 3 months old tomorrow and the boys haven’t had pictures taken in at least two years, I figured I’d better jump on the opportunity when it arose.  That’s a downside of homeschooling; we don’t get those annual school pictures.

The older boys are such hams for the camera and she even got some smiles out of E after he had gone around the house all morning yesterday saying, “I don’t want to have my picture taken.”  “I don’t want to smile.”  “I don’t want to go.” “Why do I have to wear these clothes?”  Silly boy!  He was very good after some initial hesitation and everyone was so cooperative that I took them all for ice cream cones at Macey’s on our way home and then spent the rest of the afternoon at the park.

Normally they get Lindt chocolate bunnies on Saturday morning before Easter, but I didn’t want to deal with that mess before pictures, so the bunnies showed up at dinner last night instead, and that (plus five minutes of photos on the porch) was about the extent of our Easter festivities.  We didn’t even dye eggs this year.  I was so worn out after last week that we didn’t do much of anything this week.  Now, alas, we really need to start school again in the morning.

Tomorrow night we have tickets to see the Sacred Gifts exhibit at BYU again, history club is on Tuesday, park days have started up on Fridays again, and we have some friends coming on Wednesday.  Somehow I don’t think it will be a heavy sit-down schoolwork week!  And that’s ok!  It will be good to get back into a routine.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2014 8:28 am

    Yellow was the Easter color of choice at our house yesterday too. Molly insisted on her yellow dress after she saw I had put on a yellow top. Mark even put on a yellow tie. The others just put on what every they usually wear. We didn’t go all out for easter. Nobody got new dresses or clothes. Usually it is fun to dress girls up in pretty dresses. Each of my girls are so opinionated about what they wear now it has lost it’s charm. As long as it is modest and clean then I am happy.

Leave a Reply

