Skip to content

6 months!

July 22, 2014

Didn’t I just post a 5-month-old picture?

Little A is 6 months old today!!

(and it’s practically impossible to take pictures around here without a brother or two wanting in on the action)

IMG_2218

Luckily we took pictures yesterday after church because she wasn’t terribly happy today when I pulled out the camera, despite the fact that she is normally quite happy and content.  Today was kind of a crazy day for all of us, but I wanted to stop and reflect on the past six months of having this sweet little girl in our home and family.  We all love and adore her so much!  And it becomes harder and harder to remember our life without her.

She went to the doctor on Friday and weighed in at 14 pounds, 3 ounces.  She is 24 inches long, which is funny.  They measured her at 25.5 inches two months ago.  I really don’t think she shrunk; I always felt that measurement was a little off!  I really meant to go to the doctor with DH, but we’d have a particularly heinous night of sleep (or should I say not-sleep) and he sent me back to bed instead.

Little A has finally decided to move.  She rolls one way, then another, then scoots, and is never in the same place for long.  We’ve had a long talk with everyone about Legos and marbles and other fun tiny things I’ve found on the floor recently that need to disappear to the basement.  It’s been a while since we’ve had to worry about babyproofing!

She still drools incredibly, but there’s no sign of teeth yet. But one of these days soon, surely something will pop out.

She’s a really great napper and a fairly good sleeper at night, but just when I think we’ve got everything figured out, she goes through a rough period again.  Consequently I feel like I’m in a constant state of exhaustion, although that might be attributed to just life in general with five children along with the other stresses of my life.  The past two nights have been really good though so once again I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll get some good rest.  The smiles she gives whenever I first see her after she awakes are so precious to me.

One thing that I’ve always loved about my babies at six months of age is being able to look at them happy and healthy and think, wow, I did that.  Not only did I grow that little body inside of me for nine months, but I nursed and nurtured them through their first few months of life.  I can’t think of anything I’ve been more consistent at, ever, than nursing my babies daily to help them grow. And I’m so thankful I’ve been able to do that for them; only D ever had any formula, the super high calorie formula to help preemies put on some fat, and even then it was only a teaspoon at a time in my breastmilk.  I don’t know that I ever thought I would enjoy breastfeeding as much as I have, but I feel such a sense of accomplishment from it, especially when I look at this beautiful little face!

IMG_2214-002

I’m always a little sad when we pass the newborn stage, but I really do love each new stage of life and I’m so excited for the next six months with this little girl!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mama Rachel permalink
    July 22, 2014 10:34 am

    She’s such a beauty! I feel the same way about breastfeeding– WOW! What a great plan the Lord has for mothers and babies. ❤

Leave a Reply

