Skip to content

Coming up for air

September 18, 2014

Wow, September’s halfway over already.  We’re in our third week of school, and I already feel swamped by just about everything.  There’s the concert I have next weekend and the attendant practicing which I just can’t do whenever I feel like it. Three other budding musicians juggle their time in the music room during waking hours and although some of my best practice time comes around 11 p.m., the fact that the boys are currently sleeping in the living room (long story) is hampering that somewhat.

Then there’s Little A, who for the first time in weeks, slept in past 5:20 a.m. today.  She did actually wake up at 5:20, but believed DH for once when he told her it was too early to be getting up.  I’ve heard it said that parenthood is just one giant experiment to see what prolonged sleep deprivation will do to a person.  It’s doing a number on me; I can tell you that!

The boys have not been exercising for the past 6 weeks and they really need to!  I think our days would run a little smoother if they could burn off some energy first thing, but DH is still teaching these training classes at obscene hours.  Either he’s back at work from 10 to midnight like right now, or he’s up at 4 a.m. and teaching a 5 a.m. class.  Somedays he’s there until midnight and in at 5:00 the next morning.  Don’t do the math; take my word for it that he’s not getting enough sleep.  Supposedly he’ll be done with this assignment in two weeks.  I can’t wait!  And mornings on my end (see baby above) haven’t facilitated getting the boys up to exercise.

Weekends have gotten better though.  DH and another guy have been working 6 hours each on Saturday and 6 hours each on Sunday.  They finally put their heads together and asked why couldn’t they work 12 hours in one day and take the other day off?  Their supervisor said ok, so now they switch which day they work every weekend and get either Saturday or Sunday completely off.  It’s amazing.  DH has a day off.  We don’t quite know what to do with ourselves!  But I am sure looking forward to Saturday this week!  And regardless of his day off, DH’s also not covering for the Sunday morning guy any more, so he can come to church with us every Sunday, at least for the first two hours.  It was so weird to hand off the baby to him and only have to worry about my calling in Primary without her last Sunday.

Especially because she has got that low-army-crawl down!  And she is fast!  She doesn’t hold still for a second these days.  We’ve lost her several times.  And she eats paper whenever she can find it.  We lost half a page of Challenging Word Problems, and today she was doing her best to digest some red post-it notes.  The boys are slowly learning not to leave their school work out on the living room floor.

We really love morning naptime!

And with that, school is actually going pretty well.  I’d always love to start earlier, but for now that’s life.  We’re still walking our friend’s dog after lunch, so that’s a nice outside break in the middle of the day, although it makes our afternoons go a little later than I would like.  There’s a very short space to time to run errands, fix dinner, and do any kind of school prep for the next day, because it won’t happen after dinner because oh yeah, Little Missy was getting a little too adept at peeking over the side of her bassinet so we finally had to take it out and let her sleep in the bottom of her pack-n-play instead.  And it messed with her world!  So for the past I don’t know how many days, in addition to the 5:20 a.m. wakeup calls, we’ve also been up with her until 11 p.m or so helping her finally settle down enough to sleep.

And by then my brain is dead.  Anything that needed to be done is forgotten.  And it’s time to go to bed so I can do it all over again the next day.  Or because I can never go to bed by myself, wait until DH comes home at midnight, which he just did, so I’m signing off now.

But not without a cute picture of Missy, which is almost a month old, because although I’ve taken pictures lately, I haven’t found time to download them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

