Skip to content

FHE surprise

October 2, 2014

It’s no secret that we love Studio C around here.  C was overjoyed to get to see the cast and get a pair of “Jeremy” glasses from the BYUtv booth at Rootstech last winter.  His dream is to go to a live taping eventually.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Because I’ve been sucked into facebook a little too much lately, I just happened to see that the cast of Studio C was hosting a premiere party in Provo this week where they would show the first episode of Season 5 on a big screen outdoors.   I convinced DH that we should go for a fun evening.  Even though he hates crowds, he agreed to go and ended up having a really great time.  There were probably several thousand people there, but he said he felt much safer than he would have in a similar size crowd in downtown Salt Lake City.  There’s that clean-cut BYU atmosphere for you!

We didn’t tell the boys where we were going for Family not-Home Evening, and they about went crazy trying to guess, especially as I told them to bundle up warmly.  It turned relatively cold over the weekend and I didn’t want anyone to freeze.  We just pulled all the fall/winter clothes out of storage and realized Little A needs a winter coat.  Luckily she does have a jacket and plenty of blankets, and it wasn’t that freezing cold quite yet, even after the sun went down.

As we got to Provo and drove past the BYU broadcasting building, C was sighing about how he wished he could see Studio C in person.  They had no clue where we were going until we got to the park and finally saw a sign for Studio C.  I don’t really like surprises myself (and apparently D takes after me), but I love to be the one pulling the surprise on everybody else.  It was fun to see their faces.  We walked down and found a pretty good space where we could see the screen.  The cast came out and answered some fan questions that had been asked online and gave away some free stuff, then sat down to join us all in watching the first episode, which was of course hilarious.  I can’t wait to watch it again next Monday night!  We love their good clean brand of humor.

IMG_2659

(bad iphone photo)

But as much as we love Studio C, we really need some help in the dinner conversation department because as I noticed tonight, the majority of the dinner table talk at our house consists of quoting Studio C, Calvin and Hobbes and other assorted comics, or movies.  I’ve already banned Star Wars talk at the table because I was sick of it.  I’ve never been a great conversationalist and besides I’m too busy trying to feed myself plus a baby.  I need some new ideas for stimulating mealtime conversation.  Any ideas?

I also need a massage or something.  Since I didn’t have orchestra rehearsal last night, C cashed in one of his birthday coupons, and he and I went roller skating ($2 on Tuesdays!) for an hour.  Where I used muscles I haven’t used in ages.  My whole body hurts today!  But that’s probably also because I got tripped up by my own skates once on a turn and fell.  Hard.  Harder than I’ve fallen in years.  So now I’m in pain and waiting for skin to grow back on a few body parts.

Sigh . . . welcome to October!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2014 10:32 pm

    Dinner Conversation is rather limited around our house too. Studio C skits are often quoted. Minecraft, the lego movie or Mario also come up frequently. I guess when you are with the same people day in and day out they don’t want to discuss much of anything except the fun stuff. I asked them once why that was all we seemed to talk about and they asked me “what would you like us to talk about”. I guess I couldn’t come up with anything so coversation is still rather limited.

  2. October 3, 2014 4:38 am

    Sounds like a lovely way to spend an evening! Our conversation isn’t too too exciting, either. But it sounds to me like you’re building memories and fun, and that’s a good thing. Dinner is magic, even if all you do talk about is ordinary stuff.

Leave a Reply

