Skip to content

Now I Am Six!

January 11, 2016

But now I am six,
I’m as clever as clever.
So I think I’ll be six
now and forever.

~A. A. Milne

I need to teach E this entire poem, now that he is six!

(I also need to catch up on all the December photos, but I’m trying to be done with birthdays, at least for a while.)

So E’s birthday was last Monday.  It should have been our first day back to schoolwork after Christmas, but I was more than happy to take one more day off. I was not ready for school again.  Liahona classes began though and A had seminary, so it wasn’t a complete day off here, but E enjoyed a day doing pretty much nothing of consequence.   He kept changing his mind for weeks on what he really wanted to do for his birthday, but when the day was finally here, it came down to playing in the basement, watching movies, and playing Minecraft.  Oh, and cake.

He also wanted a candle in his French toast just like A.

Daddy had to teach a class in the morning, but he came home for lunch and E opted to open presents then so he could start playing with what he was sure were toys.  He was not disappointed.  He had a good pile of presents and most of them were toys.


He got some card games, a fire engine puzzle, a Star Wars snack/drink cup, an airport playset, Legos, and another Richard Scarry book.  I think soon we’ll own the entire Richard Scarry collection.  We love them!

Just a note about E–I make a photo calendar every year for the grandparents for Christmas and I couldn’t find a single picture of all seven of us from 2015.  There are quite a few pictures of six of us, and many more of four of my children, but E always managed to be missing, or was grumpy and didn’t want to be in the photo.  Ofttimes I’d just take the photo anyway because I figured that was real life and it would show what E was like in 2015.  One word: contrary.  He definitely has a mind of his own and a strong will to go with it!

He was a perfect angel for the camera on Monday though.  Maybe he just liked all the personal attention he was getting on his birthday.  Anyway, I’m glad.  He is such a good looking kid!  While he’s definitely got some quirks, we are so grateful to have him here in our family.

He really wanted to go to the Nauvoo Cafe for dinner, and we had plans to do that on Tuesday night when we were already headed to Salt Lake, but then D was sick all night Monday and spent Tuesday mostly asleep on the couch.  So we postponed that until lunch on Saturday before attending my orchestra’s children’s concert.  

We still have plans to go to the Firefighter’s Museum in Grantsville for a birthday activity.  We were planning on going Friday as it is only open on Fridays and Saturdays, but Little A threw up on Thursday and I didn’t want to chance taking her anywhere on Friday.  It’s been a great week. . . So there are still birthday activities to come.  As long as no one else gets sick.

We’re crossing our fingers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

