Skip to content

The Simple Woman’s Daybook: January 18, 2016

January 18, 2016

For Today…
Outside my window… It’s now dark and 37 degrees, but it’s been gray and rainy most of the day.  I think it’s still raining actually, which is just great since we’re supposed to be reading snow books for Five in a Row with the 6-year-old.
I am thinking… I really ought to finish posting Christmas pictures–now that it’s January 18.
I am thankful… it was a holiday today and we had nowhere to go, as I have to go into Salt Lake or to points further south every day this week.
I am wearing… plaid pajama pants and my Nova Scotia sweatshirt.
I am creating… a new apron for Little A’s birthday present.
I am wondering… when I’ll feel caught up or even better, ahead of the boys, on school.
I am reading… The Iliad with A.  Or rather, he’s waiting patiently for me to catch up so we can discuss it.  We’re also listening to Book of a Thousand Days for our next book club.
I am hoping… the music for our concert this Saturday won’t be too difficult as we won’t see it for the first time until tomorrow night.
I am learning… (make that relearning) about irrational square roots.  We’re almost done with algebra!!
In my kitchen… lemon bundt cakes for the birthday girl on Thursday.
In the homeschool room… South American geography, Robert Frost poetry, a new geometry book, and yet another writing program.
A few plans for the rest of the week: two rehearsals, one concert, one new cello student, one birthday
A peek into one of my days…Birds in the bushThe birds love our bush.  It’s not uncommon to see fifty or more sitting on the branches at once, making them bounce up and down.  It makes me smile.
Read about more days at The Simple Woman’s Daybook.
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 19, 2016 5:45 am

    Hello. I am visiting from the Simple Woman’s Daybook. All those birds in the bush would make me smile, too. I loved having the holiday on Minday so I could sit and look out my window to watch the squirrel activity. Lemon bundt cake sounds delicious. Thanks for letting me stop by for a visit. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

