Skip to content

Another weekend, another concert

February 1, 2017

I haven’t said that in a long while!

And now I know why I’ve bowed out of playing the previous four concerts with my orchestra. It was only two rehearsals and a concert, but it was rough.  Granted, those were all in the same week, but still.  I was completely worn out by the end of it Saturday night, and then I had to come home and be the mom again because DH was working.

Little A had fallen asleep at dinner that night and stayed asleep for a couple of hours before waking up recharged and ready to go.  If I’d known she would sleep so long, I would have told A to wake her up sooner, but I had to leave right after dinner and she’s nearly impossible to wake up anyway when she crashes like that.  I came home ready to fall into bed, but had to deal with the toddler who was still going at 11:45!***

It was good to play again though; I’ve hardly touched my cello since October except for playing with my few students every week in their lessons.  I’ve really missed it, even when morning sickness had me in the fetal position and in no condition to be sitting up playing a cello on stage.  That is mostly gone (another post in the making) so I thought I’d try to play this one concert.  Plus it was a good way to break in the new strings I bought in September and finally put on my cello this month.

(Photo courtesy of E, whose life’s goal is to see how many photos he can take with my phone.)
1-31830800943_0675d825e4_o

Every January we accompany piano concerto competition winners from the area.  It’s a quick concert with five days prep, but I’ve played it so many times that it’s usually one of the easier (and fun) concerts for me.   They tend to play the same concertos year after year, so it’s not too strenuous. (As long as they don’t play Tchaikovsky; those cello parts are wicked with only a few days prep time!) There were only six this year and I practically have the Grieg piano concerto memorized, I think I’ve now played all the Rachmaninov and Beethoven concerti, Mozart is always sightreadable, and even the Saint-Saens #2, which was new to the orchestra, wasn’t very difficult, plus I played it in college.  Overall, not a lot of practice time was needed on my end, but still, being gone three nights last week was more than I’ve managed in months!  And I’m still recovering, but I did get caught up on all the laundry yesterday.  Of course it was last week’s laundry, but I’ll celebrate the small victories!  (and tackle this week’s laundry tomorrow.)

I think our sleep issues were due to Little A being up late Friday night while I was at dress rehearsal.  Then we had to get up early to go to our stake family history day on Saturday, and by Saturday night, Little A just couldn’t keep her eyes open.  Luckily she made up for it Sunday night.  She fell asleep at 7:15 and stayed asleep for the rest of the night.  I was so grateful!  Just one evening now and then without the toddler to deal with is heavenly!  Because she never stops moving . . . or talking . . .

**********************************

***This reminded me of New Year’s Eve when she did the same thing.  She took a 3-hour nap that evening and woke up at 8:00 and was still going very strong at midnight.  The rest of us were wondering whose dumb idea it was to stay up until midnight anyway; we were all this close to falling asleep on the couch around 11:45, all except for A who went to a New Year’s Eve youth dance and thankfully found some friends who could give him a ride home.  But then at midnight we could see three different sets of fireworks going off across the golf course and that just made Little A even more excited to be up.  Then she was mad because I refused to stay up even longer and read bedtime stories (because it’s after midnight, child!) and finally agreed to fall asleep, but only in my bed, at which point I turned off all alarms and crashed with her.

I’ve never been so glad to switch to 1 p.m. church in my life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

