Skip to content

2 months already!

July 11, 2017

Baby S is two months old already!  We went back to the doctor yesterday for a checkup.  He now weighs 7 lbs. 13.8 oz.  and is 20 inches long.  He’s newborn size!

The doctor was impressed with his weight gain, but wants me to keep feeding him two supplemented (with super high calorie preemie formula) bottles of milk everyday until she sees some real catch-up growth.  (Last time she said she wanted me to supplement until she could see some real chunk on him.  I should have told her that we don’t do “chunk” at our house.  Not a single baby of mine has ever been remotely chunky.)

But I don’t know if I can keep pumping for another two months.  I am so sick of pumping milk!  I’ve slacked off a bit lately because it’s just such a pain! I’d love to just sit down and feed my baby with no worries about when to give him a bottle and if I’ll be able to pump enough for the next bottle.

Everything else looks healthy and normal.  The doctor was highly impressed with his neck strength.  She’d seen another 2-month-old earlier that day who was much more floppy-headed than S and he wasn’t even a preemie.  Like all of his siblings, S wants to hold his head up and look at the world, and has really good control of his neck muscles.

He is so very close to smiling.  A swears that at least he’s gotten a real smile from S.  He would; he always seems to get the first smiles.  I don’t what it is about him, but I’m still waiting for a real smile from S myself.  For now, I’ll have to be content with my pleasant-looking boy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nana permalink
    July 12, 2017 5:38 am

    Glad to hear he’s doing so well, despite having to take supplemental formula. I hope you’re getting more sleep. Give him a kiss for me. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

