Skip to content

Weekly Report 1

August 29, 2010

We survived!  I still feel like I have so much more to organize to truly feel prepared for the school year, but our first week actually went quite well. 

History: This is why I blog–we make little 3-D models of things and then I can photograph them, blog about them, and toss them.  This week’s throwaway was the Crystal Palace from Queen Victoria’s Great Exposition of 1851.  My boys love to make stuff like this and would hang onto each and every last model if I would let them.  Luckily we just don’t have the storage space! 

We looked at a fabulous book about London (from Roman Capital to Olympic City) which had a spread about the Crystal Palace.  We also read a short biography of Queen Victoria and read about the Sepoy Mutiny in Story of the World.  And I actually got our timeline printed up and taped together so we could begin to add events to it.  I always planned to do a timeline last year and it just never happened so I’m really happy that we got a good start on that. 

DH and I also watched The Young Victoria together Friday night.  It was really good.

FIAR: D started The Finest Horse in Town for Five in a Row and I’ll report on that after we finish the unit next week.

Geography: We began reading Paddle to the Sea and worked on the accompanying mapwork. 

Latin: A has been reviewing first and second declension case endings and we all watched Prima Latina lesson 1 with C and DH. 

Grammar: We’re thoroughly enjoying reading through MCT Grammar Island.  I think this will be a hit.  Giggling through grammar is always a plus.

Math: A and C both began their new Singapore books (4A, 2A respectively) and so far, so good.  D actually finished 1A this week and consistently wants to do math first thing. 

Memory: We began memorizing the poem, “Bed in Summer” by Robert Louis Stevenson and our first scripture mastery verse: Doctrine and Covenants 1:37-38 Search these commandments, for they are true and faithful, and the prophecies and promises which are in them shall all be fulfilled… What I the Lord have spoken, I have spoken, and I excuse not myself; and though the heavens and the earth pass away, my word shall not pass away, but shall all be fulfilled, whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same.

Penmanship: Everyone began their new Pentime books.  A has really adapted well to the slant in his cursive.  C also has some beautiful writing going on.  I was a little worried as he has hardly written a thing all summer.

A's cursive, D's and C's printing

I didn’t intend to hit so many subjects this week, but the boys kept asking for more.  I think the only things we didn’t touch were science, writing, and spelling.  It’s a little crazy with three children doing official schoolwork this year.  I think my biggest challenge is just figuring out how juggle all of their individual needs when so much of their work is not independent quite yet.  I’m still trying to figure out how best to go about our day.  It’s a work in progress.

I’m also adjusting to getting up quite a bit earlier instead of going back to sleep after I nurse E in the mornings.  I’m really feeling tired this weekend!  We’ve also had Nana here visiting and we’ve been out and about and busy the past three days.  We had home school park day this week, the boys went to the aquarium, and we went hiking up Little Cottonwood Canyon yesterday. 

This next week will be busy as well and a little bit lighter on schoolwork, but we’ve had a great start to the year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 9:35 pm

    Looks like a great week. And yup, pictures are a great way to perserve all those paper projects!

  2. August 29, 2010 10:12 pm

    Isn’t it great when they ask for more? It looks like you had a wonderful week!

  3. August 30, 2010 7:17 am

    That’s one of the reasons I blog, too. So I can “keep” projects (via posted photographs) without my house being overrun with them!

    We are starting SOTW, too. How did you make the Crystal Palace model? Is it in the workbook? (I have mine on order & should get it tomorrow.)

    Can you tell more about your timeline?

    We are also using MCT books this year.

    Love your blog!

    • cellista permalink*
      August 30, 2010 10:27 pm

      My timeline is the Wonders of Old Timeline on cd-rom from Knowledge Quest maps–http://www.knowledgequestmaps.com/Wonders-of-Old-CD-ROM.html

      I have the bound book version, but decided to get the cd version as well so I can print out as many copies as I want to. I just taped it together accordion style so we can lay it out to look at it then fold it into a folder to store. I could also hang it on the wall in two sections if I could find the wall space.

Leave a comment